Skip to content
    Request A Free Trial
    vulnerability management

    What is Vulnerability Management?

    Vulnerability management is the continuous process of identifying, assessing, reporting, managing, and remediating cyber-related vulnerabilities across all endpoints and systems in an organization.

    What is the vulnerability management cycle?

    Gartner defines the vulnerability management cycle in five steps.

    1. Assess: identify assets, scan, and report
    2. Prioritize: Assign value to the assets, gauge exposure, add threat context
    3. Act: remediate risks, mitigate risks, accept risk
    4. Reassess: Rescan systems and validate remediation
    5. Improve: Eliminate underlying issues, evolve process and SLAs, evaluate metrics

    Is there a difference between vulnerability management and vulnerability assessment?

    Vulnerability management and vulnerability assessment are different. Vulnerability management is an ongoing process as outlined in the cycle above. Vulnerability assessment is a one-time evaluation of a network or endpoint.

    Vulnerability management can feel overwhelming — but it doesn’t have to be. Learn how Axonius simplifies the process. 

    See the Platform

    See the Axonius Platform for yourself with an interactive product tour, where we'll guide you through key applications of our Cybersecurity Asset Management and SaaS Management solutions.

    Get a Free Trial

    Sign-up for a free full-access 30 day trial to learn how Axonius gives IT and security teams a comprehensive understanding of all assets, their relationships, and business-level context including devices, identities, software, SaaS applications, vulnerabilities and security controls, and more.

    Book a Demo

    Request a demo to learn how the Axonius Platform provides a system of record for all digital infrastructure helping IT and security teams manage an always-expanding sprawl of devices, users, software, SaaS applications, cloud services, and the tools used to manage and secure them.